Day 595: Slow Your Roll

20130827-161159.jpg

Two years ago if my kid would’ve had a rough day at school like he did today, I would’ve made myself an entire batch of brownies or a vat of cookie dough to accompany me as I worried.

Admittedly, today I did slam back a handful of chocolate chips. (Which, for the record, did NOT help me cope with my worry!) And even though going to the pantry is not the response I want to have when I worry, it is SO MUCH better than what it used to be. I spent a lot of the day praying. I spent a lot of the day looking up scriptures. I spent a lot of the day turning and turning and turning to God.

But this afternoon I started to wonder, Gosh, God. How much longer until I DON’T go to the pantry searching for relief? I thought I’d be totally over that by now. And then I thought to myself:

Change can sometimes be slow. Slower than we want. But God is faithful. He may not change you at the speed you want, but He’ll change you at the speed that is right.

One Comment to “Day 595: Slow Your Roll”

  1. Sounds like you’re doing an amazing job!! I used to have serious problems with food and binging. I still have to watch myself and do things like eating a handful of chocolate chips, but I don’t call it a problem anymore. It sounds like you’re pretty much there too! Keep it up and keep up the faith. Your faith is an inspiration to me girlfriend! Celeste 🙂

Leave a Reply

