Day 519: Positivity Pending

20130612-062044.jpg

Several days ago I started writing this post… thinking that I’d post that I needed a day off from positivity and prayer. Just one of “those” days, ya know? Couldn’t seem to get myself in gear for anything remotely positive. My attitude was been poor, at best.

And then as a last ditch effort I grabbed my One Year Bible and thought I’d see what my daily reading had for me that day(it was obvious that I did not read that morning)! And when the first sentence was something along the lines of “And right before King David’s death…” I was like, Ohhhhhh yeah, that’s not going to work for me.

So THEN as a last, LAST ditch effort I went and grabbed The Promise Bible hoping that it would lead me a little more directly to something resembling positivity.

I turned to the back pages… ya know, the “I’m desperate and have no idea where to look” pages. Luckily there was a section of “Promises By Topic”. I wasn’t sure then which one to look up… so I decided to pick the one that I wanted to feel:

joy.

I looked them up. And wow… it only took like two of them to start turning my frown… upside down. So… I’m going to share them with you today and we’re just going to start up the rest of my 30 Day Infusion tomorrow (sorry I fell behind… crazy weekend with no free writing time).

Nehemiah continued, “Go and celebrate with a feast of rich foods and sweet drinks, and share gifts of food with people who have nothing prepared. This is a sacred day before our Lord. Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the Lord is your strength!” Nehemiah 8:10

How joyful are those who fear the Lord— all who follow his ways! Psalm 128:1

I will rejoice in the Lord! I will be joyful in the God of my salvation! Habakkuk 3:18

The Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs. Zephaniah 3:17 (I just love this whole thing!)

We know that God, who raised the Lord Jesus, will also raise us with Jesus and present us to himself together with you. All of this is for your benefit. And as God’s grace reaches more and more people, there will be great thanksgiving, and God will receive more and more glory. That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever. 2 Corinthians 4:14-18

He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever. Revelation 21:4

3 Responses to “Day 519: Positivity Pending”

  1. Sorry you’ve been down in the dumps. I hate when I get in a funk and it can happen so easily. But I like what you did here. These verses are great. Zeph 3:17 is one of my absolute favorites. I’ve whispered it over my children at night, prayed it over them when they’re crying and shared it as encouragement to friends and strangers. The thought that our great big God, the one who is mighty to save us, will calm our hearts and quiet our souls. And the fact that he delights in me and sings over me just blows my mind. What a cool thing for him to do. It’s such a beautiful picture of this awesome God that I love and serve. So big and holy, yet intimate and lovingly present. Hope your day finds you smiling more than frowning. 🙂

    • It was actually days ago. It’s just me being a little strung out I think… not giving myself enough breaks and whatnot. Anyway, YES, Zeph 3:17 IS fabulous and reading it through this time it was like I’d never read it before… the way it affected me! Brilliance!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

