Day 452: God’s Little P.S.

coffeeless coffee pot

I promised in my post the other day that I would tell you about the other thing that God called me to give up over the next five years.

Honestly… I did NOT expect for Him to call me out on this one, buuuuuuuut, He did.

Coffee.

Oh yes, you heard me right… c.o.f.f.e.e.

I mean… how many times have I said that I couldn’t give up coffee? wouldn’t give up coffee? (Day 94: Oh! My! God! is a great example of that)

But there I was sitting in that comfy arm chair on my women’s retreat, looking out at the lake, praying to God, hearing from God. And, well, actually… there was more to the conversation than I said on Day 444: So. Worth. It. THIS was the entire conversation:

So, as I prayed, I distinctly heard: No sugar for 5 years… until your 40th Birthday. On your 40th Birthday, you can have cake.

Yes, God, Yes… I will do this… I will follow You.

… and coffee.

Uhhhhhhhhh, say what? Come again? Did you just say “And coffee?”

… and no coffee for five years.

{Lengthy Pause} Yes. God. If you say so.

Oooooo, I’m just gonna admit right now that my last response was, well, a little begrudging.

But, looking back (and being able to look back so easily is one of the big perks of this blog) I can see how he has been prepping me for this.

And, well, I’m back in agreement with myself again. Coffee… ain’t… all that and a bag of chips. or, a bag of grounds. or whatever.

But here’s what is interesting – I have only experienced POSITIVE things from being off of coffee. I have only missed it, like, a couple of times and it was only because there was no tea there when I wanted some (like at church on Wednesday morning and at Nanny’s house). Tea actually tastes better. I drink less tea than I did coffee because I am so satisfied by the taste from the beginning. I drink more water because I’m not dumping gallons of coffee down my gullet. I am not “addicted” to caffeine anymore. I actually eat a good breakfast because I’m not filling up on coffee and almond milk.

Let me praise the Lord for his great love and for the wonderful things he has done for me. For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things. Psalm 107:8-9

Hold on to what is good. 1 Thessalonians 5:21

10 Comments to “Day 452: God’s Little P.S.”

  1. Confession: I drink waaaayyy too much coffee. Two cups in the am and at least one in the afternoon. It’s quite ridiculous. I need to get off. But honestly, I don’t want to deal with the withdrawal. And the headache. Ugh.

    • The first time I “came off” of it last year was heinous, to be honest. But I went from about three cups in the morning, every. single. morning. to no coffee at all. Cold turkey. One day.
      I’m going to do another post about converting to tea and a friend of mine gave me some good advice. There may be hope for you yet. 🙂

  2. Here’s another little confession: because I drink coffee, I still drink creamer. And although it says “non-dairy” it still has milk protein in it. So technically I’m cheating. Every single day. And I don’t drink the fat free or sugar free stuff either. So yeah. I need to load up the youngins and make a trip up to Teavana for some yummy tea. I’ve just been avoiding it since its an hour away and I have to bring the kids.

    • *It’s. I promise I know the diff between its and it’s. ugh.

      • Haha! Didn’t even notice! (I’ve graded too many high school English papers in my life… I now block out all mistakes. Well, maybe not ALL mistakes. Like “there and their”… Oooooooooo, that one still makes my skin crawl. And oddly enough, “sale and sell”. {shivers} I just can’t abide that one. I have to meditate before I get on CraigsList because EV.ER.Y.ONE. uses those wrong!)

      • Yes! I have friends with graduate degrees who get sale and sell wrong. Makes me batty. Or my other fave is “lose” and “loose”. Get it together, people!!!

    • Yikes!!! Do you have a World Market, Whole Foods, Market Street, or Sprouts closer? My friend gets hers locally from a little local grocer and also from World Market… she gets that matte kind that is a good “replacement” tea she said. Maybe you could have one cup of coffee and one cup of tea in the morning to help you transition?

Leave a Reply

