Recipe: Easy And Fast Rice And Beans (Vegan)

Easy Beans And Rice - a rainy day meal

Truth be told, I only wanted rice for dinner (I won’t get into the gory details as to why), but my husband was going to require something a bit more substantial. So, I figured it was the perfect time for him to have rice and beans. I could just eat my rice and then load on a bunch of beans for him. No clue where to start, I looked through several recipes but didn’t have all of the ingredients for any of them, but I felt like I got the overall “feel” for the recipes, soooooo I took a plunge and made up my own, and he LOVED it! {Whew!}

But one thing I’m not sure of… is it “Beans and Rice” or “Rice and Beans”???

Easy And Fast Rice and Beans (Vegan)

  • 2 cups of cooked rice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion (frozen is fine)
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 can RO-TEL (here is a recipe if you want to make your own from scratch)
  • 1 (15 oz) can of black beans (undrained)
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 4 to 5 “squirts” of hot pepper sauce (y’all know Frank’s is my fav)
  • 1/8 tsp ground cumin
  • lime or avocado wedge (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Heat large skillet on the stove at medium-high and heat the olive oil.
  2. Saute the onion and garlic for a few minutes until crisp tender and then stir in RO-TEL and thyme. Let it cook for about three to five minutes while the juices cook out.
  3. Stir in beans, hot pepper sauce, and cumin. Lower heat to medium and let simmer for 7-8 minutes, stirring once.
  4. Serve over rice and top with lime or avocado!

Oooooo, I was so happy to see all the bright red tomatoes! I bet this would be even more beautiful with the homemade RO-TEL!

Easy Beans And Rice - tomatoes simmering

Yummy, yum, yum said the hubs!

Easy Beans And Rice - side shot

3 Comments to “Recipe: Easy And Fast Rice And Beans (Vegan)”

  1. Looks yummy! You know what else would be awesome on top? A quick mango salsa. Chop some mango, throw in some corn, pineapple, red onion, lime juice, fresh chopped cilantro, salt and pepper and you’ve got a cool, refreshing complement to the heat of the Ro-Tel and hot sauce. Still add the avocado, of course. 🙂

    • Excellent idea!!! That would have been a great balance! I’ve been craving mango lately anyway! Maybe I’ll just remake it next week so that I can use your suggestion!

  2. I can’t wait to try this one!

Leave a Reply

