Day 432: An Attempt To Give Advice

I’ve had several new and old friends feeling pulled toward a covenant diet lifestyle lately and I’ve gotten several questions about it. A lot of the questions pertaining to foods are answered in the pages Get Started and What I Eat. But there are some “highlights” that I tend to want to impress upon people that are starting… things I’ve learned over the past year and a half.

{And honestly, I got a little derailed about halfway through my second “tip” because of a battle of the spirit going on inside me.}

Start Small. I know this seems opposite from what I did last year with committing for a full year (which was a BIG commitment), but I had already done a three week Daniel Fast the year before (a relatively small commitment). It’s not that God can’t work in a big commitment nor is it that He doesn’t want a big commitment. On the contrary. I found my greatest blessings in the long-term commitment. But, MY heart, soul, and mind needed to stay small at first. Sometimes we need to see God in the little things to have faith in the big things. So, start with a three-day fruit fast, or a three-week Daniel Fast, or whatever.

Be Hard Core. Whatever you and God decide to do… go at it all the way. No halvsies. Give Him ALL OF YOU for those three days, those three weeks, those three months. If you say you’re not gonna eat bread for three months then be above reproach about it- crackers… they are pretty much bread. tortillas… those are bread. biscuits. rolls. hot dog buns. bread. bread. bread. Don’t try to “convince” yourself that something isn’t bread when you dadgum know that it is. The moment you give yourself a little bit of “wiggle room” then Satan will wiggle his way on in there. This has been my hardest learned lesson. Over and over again I have to fight my mind’s conniving tricky ways to slide past the covenant agreements.

Even now I sit here, every few minutes, my eyes shifting over to the candy basket at my mother-in-law’s house… trying to figure out the loophole that would enable me to have one mini-Twix. Just one. That’s all I’d need (says my mind). Just a taste. It’s a special weekend. A special day. Just one.

Heck, just writing this fact down helps me to avoid it.

20130317-135655.jpg

But honestly, I could finish this little post and turn off my phone in a minute and walk over there to the candy. You would never. even. know.

I have to talk to God about it. That’s what it all boils down to. It boils down to… well, to…

God.

God’s power.
God’s help.
God’s spirit.
God’s Word.

God.

God. I want that candy. It’s not part of our agreement, but I want it anyway. Help me God. Help me to not eat it. Help me to resist it. Make me willing to obey.

But more than that God, help me to choose You. Help me to long for you as I long for that candy. Transfer that lust for the things of this world into a passion for You. I know those candies won’t satisfy whatever it is that ails my heart right now… whatever this is that makes me willing to rebel against You. Pride? Greed? Lust? Control? Anger? I don’t know what it is, but Lord God, I want You. I want to choose You. I need You to empower me with strength and discipline and self-control. These just don’t seem to be traits that came with my DNA! And so I have to rely on you to give them to me through The Spirit. Overpower me. Overpower my will. Make me like You want me so that I can honor You and glorify You with my life.

Thank you Jesus for how far you have brought me. Thank you for the opportunity to strive to be more and more like You. Thank you that my salvation rests in none of my successes or failures but in the assurance that You have taken all of my successes and failures and offered yourself as worthy when I could never be really, truly worthy.

Wow. Jesus. I love you.

Amen.

And guess what? The candy basket was empty. Ha! A blessing in disguise, I guess!

20130317-135710.jpg

One Comment to “Day 432: An Attempt To Give Advice”

  1. Seriously bummed that I missed you this weekend. Well, except for the little chat the other day, but you know.

Leave a Reply

