Day 387: Sick And Fried

bubba gump stupid is as stupid does

One of the worst places to get sick… is on vacation.

And one of the worst reasons to get sick on vacation is cause you ate something not-so-good for you.

And how do I know this? Experience, my friends. Personal and recent experience.

We went to the Bubba Gump Shrimp restaurant one day during our workcation in Anaheim (we chose it mainly because I still wasn’t eating meat and because it was close… not sure I would have chosen this on any normal day). We were so hungry that we decided to really get a lot of food…

Yeahhhhhh, that was not such a good idea.

Fried calamari.
Crab and Shrimp Bisque.
Fish and Chips.

On top of this, I’d had pretty much zero water all day so I think I was a little dehydrated. Regardless, I stopped eating my fish. And about five minutes later I had to run to the restroom to do a little “praying” to the toilet gods while my husband waited for me outside. He then had to pretty much support me on the walk home and then I had to speed up our visit to the 7-Eleven for some gatorades.

Once we got back to the hotel, I still felt icky so I just collapsed into bed.

And had a bit of a “Come To Jesus” about fried foods.

Now remember, I’m not a nutritionist. In fact, the “science” of nutrition is almost entirely ignored by me. It just changes so frequently. (e.g. Eggs were terrible for you,then they were good for you. Avocados were fattening and now they are necessary. Baked potato peels were of the devil and now they are crucial.) So, I’m not going to be able to delineate for you WHY nutritionists say that fried food is bad for you, but I do know that eating a lot of fried foods makes me sick. And if it makes me sick, then it’s probably not good for me.

Cause yeah, this is not the first time that fried food has made me sick.

Fried chicken (like as in KFC kind)… I lovvvvve it. But it makes me siiiiiiiiiick.
Fish and chips… lovvvvvvvve it. But it makes me siiiiiiiick.
Fish tempura… lovvvvvvve it. But, yep, you guessed it… it makes me siiiiiiick.

I think it must be the super greasy type of stuff.

But, ya know… I’m kind of amazed that it has taken me so many times of being sick to accept the fact that it’s just not for me. So weird to think that I would allow my tastebuds to override my stomach. It’s like the mental connector dealies that are connected to my tastebuds must be much stronger than the connectors that work with my stomach.

I know that I reference the verse a lot, but I think about the verse in Proverbs 26:11 that says a dog that returns to its vomit is like a person who repeats something stupid or foolish…

…like, ya know, getting sick everytime you eat something insanely greasy and then… eating stuff that is insanely greasy again. It’s like the famous Forrest Gump phrase, “Stupid is as stupid does.”

And I know that the Law that God made regarding food was in our best interest; however, it doesn’t say anywhere “Thou shalt not eat greasy chicken from KFC”. But I was just reading this verse and I think it relates here:

Hold on to the pattern of wholesome teaching you learned from me—a pattern shaped by the faith and love that you have in Christ Jesus. 2 Timothy 1:13

So even though I know that the Bible never explicitly forbids fried chicken, I do know that the Bible tells me to honor my body, to run from sin, to throw off anything that holds me back. And if I am to “hold on to the pattern of this wholesome teaching” then the pattern would tell me that if fried chicken is hurting my body (my temple) to do away with it.

The same with gluttony. with sugar. with not sleeping well. with inactivity.

I don’t like saying all these things to myself because it convicts me and then I know that I am required to change. But, I know that the “changed me” several months down the road will be very proud of the “eats fried foods me” that is looking to change.

2 Responses to “Day 387: Sick And Fried”

  1. It’s that whole Romans 7 battle, but with food. The best thing about Romans 7 though, is Romans 8. There is freedom in grace. Give yourself some grace. And next time you’re starving hungry, try to remind your “self that wants fried shrimp,” that your tummy doesn’t.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

