Day 365: My Portion

20130109-160739.jpg

I’ve noticed the past few go rounds at dinner that I have been so. full. after eating. I wasn’t eating any kind of crazy foods… still vegetarian, still sugarless, and now breadless, and chipless.

So, why would I be so full?

I mean, who gets super stuffed after eating soup!?!?

Well, as I’ve learned over and over and over and… over, it doesn’t matter WHAT I eat if I am eating TOO MUCH.

And…… I was eating too much. Even soup.

So there it was… the trick of gluttony sliding in under the guise of healthy food. under the guise of SOUP. Tricky. Tricky. Tricky.

Overdramatic-Me thought: Oh woe is me! What can I do to stop this?

Calm-logical-Me answered: Uhhhhhhh, I dunno, maybe… eat less food?

Yeah, that wasn’t a tough thing to figure out. But any time you are dealing with gluttony it is a tough thing to DO.

But as nutritionists have been saying for years, it’s all in the portion control. It’s in the serving myself a smaller bowl of soup instead of in my mega-cereal bowl of soup. It’s in eating my portion and then instead of going back for seconds eating some fruit or drinking a glass of water. There are so many well-known tricks of the trade of “portion control” that it’s not that difficult to know what to do. Again… it’s just in the DOING IT.

When I started thinking about “portion control” I remembered a commonly said phrase “The Lord is my portion”. I was pretty sure that it was a verse but didn’t know where it was in the bible or what context it was written in, so I looked into it. And I came across this:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

And I don’t know Greek or Hebrew, but from what I could read about it, “portion” most often means “inheritance”. So, how can God be my “inheritance”? Well, I guess I was thinking that the inheritance was what your parents passed on to you to support you, to maintain your life, to give you a boost financially, to help you.

And well, God is all of those things for me. He supports me, maintains my life, boosts me, helps me.

God is my portion. He is my portion control.

So, when that huge bowl of soup, or second-serving of pasta bake, or fifty-third cashew is calling my name, I can remember… God is my portion… I don’t need this extra stuff. I have the portion that will last forever.

20130109-161522.jpg

3 Responses to “Day 365: My Portion”

  1. I needed this one. My portions have gotten out of control. Still healthy, but too much.

    I’m so glad you took this journey and took the time to write it down. So much of my relationship with food is unhealthy and I love your perspective and constant reminder to put God in the center. I think I’m gonna be working on doing that more. You’ve inspired me!

  2. p.s. I don’t know what’s in that bowl but it looks yuuuummmmyy!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

