Day 346: Weight Loss Math

20121220-132042.jpg

So I’ve never really been “good” at losing weight nor at math. This year, however, God has worked a miracle and enabled me to lose weight.

However, I’m not sure even a miracle could heal me of my mathematical inadequacies.

But I do enjoy the whole word equation thing… it’s like 97% words and 2% math.

(Haha- did you get my little math humor right there?)

So, here is your word-math equation of the day.

Not Full ≠ Hungry

Yep. Crazy awesome math there, eh?

But it’s a recent “revelation” that I’ve had. I was sitting on my couch with my son and I was like “Hmmmm, I’m hungry… I should get something to eat.” And immediately I started going through some of my excuses to eat something other than fruit (like I talked about yesterday)… today’s was the one “Oh well, I ate breakfast like half-an-hour ago {mind you, for one thing, I thought this without actually looking at the clock to confirm it had been 30 minutes} so this could still count as breakfast.

But luckily, because I “confessed”, in the form of my blog post, those thoughts yesterday and re-read that “confession” again this morning, I was ready. I knew that those were lies. tricks. deceptions.

So, as I thought through my “hunger pains”… I sorta realized, “Wait. I’m not really hungry. I’m just not… full.

And that’s when I came to my word-math equation…

Being “not full” does not necessarily equal being hungry. I mean… just because I’m not stuffed to the brim having to put on PJ pants just to be comfortable does not mean that I need to go have a snack. There are several “stages” of my belly volume:

  • empty/hungry
  • “aware” of my stomach
  • satiated
  • full
  • stuffed

And so you see there is a land between hungry and satiated. You know… that part of the morning where it’s no longer breakfast but it’s not lunch time either. (Ya know, right about the time McDonald’s closes its breakfast line when you are on a road trip.) And you’re starting to feel a little hungry but you aren’t quite salivating yet or dreaming and planning of what you’re gonna eat.

Well, actually… sometimes I still dream and plan what I’m gonna eat for lunch or dinner. Not nearly as much as I used to, but it does still happen.

Anyway, my whole point was reminding myself that just because I am aware of my stomach doesn’t mean I need to run to the fridge to get something. I like Gwen Shamblin’s (yes, I know some people think she’s crazy, but I do like this) idea to wait for 15 minutes and see if you are still hungry before having a snack. Oftentimes this will reveal true-hunger or circumstance-hunger (like boredom, stress, procrastination, etc).

    A person who is full refuses honey, but even bitter food tastes sweet to the hungry. Proverbs 27:7
Leave a Reply

