Day 332: Sin Speaks

20121207-234646.jpg

Sometimes I come against a road block spiritually.

Okay, okay…

A lot of times I come up against a road block spiritually.

There can be lots of reasons for it, I guess. Satan. Lethargy. Business. Anger. Denial.

Sin.

And I oftentimes want alllll those other things to be the reason… but sin? No. Not sin. I don’t even want to evaluate that as the reason. I often don’t want to admit that it’s even happening.

And today I came across these verses in Jeremiah. And I really liked verse 3 about calling to God and He’ll reveal things. And I really liked verses 6-9 about how He will make everything happy and prosperous and peaceful.

Butttttt I sorta wanted to just skip over verses 4 and 5. Cause they just aren’t as nice. happy. encouraging. friendly. feel-good.

And yet I must remind myself that verses 4 and 5 are just as much Truth as verses 6-9.

    “This is what the Lord says—the Lord who made the earth, who formed and established it, whose name is the Lord: Ask me and I will tell you remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come.

    (verses 4 and 5) For this is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: You have torn down the houses of this city and even the king’s palace to get materials to strengthen the walls against the siege ramps and swords of the enemy. You expect to fight the Babylonians, but the men of this city are already as good as dead, for I have determined to destroy them in my terrible anger. I have abandoned them because of all their wickedness.

    “Nevertheless, the time will come when I will heal Jerusalem’s wounds and give it prosperity and true peace. I will restore the fortunes of Judah and Israel and rebuild their towns. I will cleanse them of their sins against me and forgive all their sins of rebellion. Then this city will bring me joy, glory, and honor before all the nations of the earth! The people of the world will see all the good I do for my people, and they will tremble with awe at the peace and prosperity I provide for them. Jeremiah 33:2-9

And oh the sins I could list here.

Of course, gluttony has reared its ugly head one or two times of late. Pride. Selfishness. Slander. Not honoring the sabbath.

The list could go on.

But I am reminded today of when God says He’ll heal us…

    “When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. 2 Chronicles 7:13-14

So first I gotta:
• humble myself
• pray
• seek His Face
• turn from my sins

And so I might as well start now. And start with gluttony.

    God, You are the One in control. You know my sins and yet you are The Forgiver. You are my righteousness. You are there.

    My sin is… embarrassing, God. With all your power, your love, your peace, your comfort, your guidance… still I turn to the world for those things. I am… just… human. Please forgive me.

    I look to You in your perfection. But I also turn to you because you want me to be… good. You want me to experience… good. blessings. righteousness. I look to You, God, for power. for hope. for refinement. Only you can change me. Mold me back into your image God. Make me… the inner me… radiate You.

    God, I want to turn from my sin of gluttony. Help me Lord to turn to You for all of my needs, needs of my soul and needs of the body. Help me God… make me willing to obey. Purify and refine me.

    You are the only One who can.

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

