Day 279: Divine Diapers And Dinners

20121015-132419.jpg

Both yesterday and today are the kind of days where I wake up and think… I really don’t have anything to say.

Part of that comes from a couple of days of busyness where my heart and mind don’t have time to think about anything except for the next five minutes or getting from task to task.

Yes, yes, I am a stay at home mom so my “busyness” is not deadlines and contracts and meetings, but I can assure you that my two boys keep me bussssssssy!!!

And of course as soon as I wrote that about being too busy to think about anything other than diapers and dinners, I recalled a verse from my lesson in church yesterday… we are studying parables (little fictitious stories that have an underlying message) and specifically studying the message about the farmer who throws some seed out. I’ll put it here for you so you don’t have to go looking… it might be familiar to you but go ahead and take it for a spin anyway to refresh.

    Jesus left the house and sat beside the lake. A large crowd soon gathered around him, so he got into a boat. Then he sat there and taught as the people stood on the shore. He told many stories in the form of parables, such as this one:
    “Listen! A farmer went out to plant some seeds. As he scattered them across his field, some seeds fell on a footpath, and the birds came and ate them. Other seeds fell on shallow soil with underlying rock. The seeds sprouted quickly because the soil was shallow. But the plants soon wilted under the hot sun, and since they didn’t have deep roots, they died. Other seeds fell among thorns that grew up and choked out the tender plants. Still other seeds fell on fertile soil, and they produced a crop that was thirty, sixty, and even a hundred times as much as had been planted! (Here Jesus has a little chat with the disciples and then he gets to saying this to them.) Now listen to the explanation of the parable about the farmer planting seeds: The seed that fell on the footpath represents those who hear the message about the Kingdom and don’t understand it. Then the evil one comes and snatches away the seed that was planted in their hearts. The seed on the rocky soil represents those who hear the message and immediately receive it with joy. But since they don’t have deep roots, they don’t last long. They fall away as soon as they have problems or are persecuted for believing God’s word. The seed that fell among the thorns represents those who hear God’s word, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the worries of this life and the lure of wealth, so no fruit is produced. The seed that fell on good soil represents those who truly hear and understand God’s word and produce a harvest of thirty, sixty, or even a hundred times as much as had been planted!”
    http://bible.us/Matt13.1.NLT

And when I wrote above “that comes from a couple of days of busyness where my heart and mind don’t have time to think about anything” my mind went to this verse:

    The seed that fell among the thorns represents those who hear God’s word, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the worries of this life and the lure of wealth, so no fruit is produced.” http://bible.us/Matt13.22.NLT

YIKES.

That’s so true. The days when my life is so crowded with worries or bills or… or… or… those are the days that I am relatively fruitless. Those are the days that my mind is focused on the temporary things instead of on the things of eternity.

Well, that’s all good and fine, but I can’t “downgrade” my busyness. I already have two kids and they aren’t gonna stop needing diapers and dinners just because I want to focus on things of eternity. I already have bills that must be paid. I already have a house to be cleaned. I already have a husband to support. I already have bible studies to complete. I already have, have, have.

And so what’s the “fix”?

I guess for some people they might need to downgrade some busyness. I really don’t think that I am that busy.

But what I can do is fill my mind with things focused on eternity. So, while I am working on changing a diaper or cooking dinner… I can set my eyes on the things above.

And not to be redundant from my posts on day 269 and 270, but I think that praise is the best way to do this.

I can praise Him in those little one sentence acknowledgements of His awesomeness. I can praise Him while I’m changing a diaper. I can praise Him while I am cooking dinner. I can praise Him while I am doing pretty much anything.

And if I am constantly looking for a time of open thought to praise Him then I am going to have my mind on the things of eternity quite often during the day.

And that just makes even the mundane of diapers and dinners… divine.

Leave a Reply

