Day 274: Soul Rest

Well, things are decidedly better in my life.

This whole praising God thing has completely turned my spiritual frown… upside down!

I mean… it has just really refocused me on how awesome He is. How capable He is. And how minor I am in comparison to His Glory.

Kinda put me in my place, so to say. But it also really made me remember WHY I love Him. Why I am in awe that He lowers Himself to communicate with me. Why I want to follow Him.

Anyway, so I really have focused on my spiritual renewal lately and not as much my eating.

Can you say… Cheetos?

And, by the way, those Fig Newton “fruit thins”… yeah, they are cookies. Do not be deceived. Fruit thins… pfffffff.

20121010-221059.jpg

So anyway, last night I was just… missing my “new” self. And I asked God… what should I do? How do I get back on “the wagon”?

His answer… You already know.

And I did already know.

And don’t we oftentimes already know what to do?

So, I started another hard-core Daniel Fast today. I’m thinking more and more that I might need to be like my friend Alice and do a hard-core Daniel Fast for way more long term.

So, for the next month I will be eating fruits, veggies, nuts, coffee, and rice and pasta only when it’s a “necessary” part of a meal.

Chips? Out.
Bread? Out.

And just today… even though I had a major sugar crash around 4pm… it was soooooooo nice to be free again. Free from my son’s leftover Cheetos. Free from the last mini-homemade-snickerdoodle muffin. Free from saltines. slices of sandwich bread.

It’s so nice to commit to God once more to honor Him, and in doing so, to lose my struggles and my burdens.

His “yoke” truly is light. And I am already enjoying this rest for my soul. (Matt 11).

Leave a Reply

