Day 255: The Heart Of The Matter

20120922-071958.jpg

Someone told me a while back that they thought it was good that I posted about some of my struggles throughout this process. They said it made it easier it relate to… because breaking an addiction of food is not an easy process. It’s not something that happens over night. It’s not something that you “do” and then move on.

I hope though that you guys aren’t sick of my struggles.

But what I keep realizing over and over again is that my struggles are so closely tied to my spiritual “state”. In fact, my eating habits very closely mirror my spiritual habits.

When I don’t read the Bible because I’d rather Facebook or get on pinterest, it’s like me saying “God, what I want is more important than You.”

When I don’t follow my covenant rules and I eat a bunch of chips and bread, it’s like me saying “God, what I want is more important than You.”

I can feel that prideful force making me turn from seeking out God and the same prideful force making me turn from those warnings to avoid temptation.

And fortunately, there is a very easy fix.

Since it is about the heart of the matter, I need to turn to Him more. The food eating will fix itself but first I have to get my heart centered back on Him. And that involves 1) routine reading of the bible, 2) routine prayer, 3) memorizing His Word and repeating it over and over again.

I have got to engulf my soul with the things of the spirit in order for the spirit to squeeze out my pride and replace it with a needy humility.

    Pride leads to disgrace,
    but with humility comes wisdom.
    Proverbs 11:2
Leave a Reply

