Day 244: Same Kind Of Different As Me

20120911-083255.jpg

Is that already the name of a book or something?!?! Hehe

Day 5 of my Sans-Snacky Fast.

So my friend Christy texted me yesterday saying “Ok…so…this type of covenant just isn’t working for me. Pray for me. I’m praying about what I need to change.”

I felt so. bad.

Like… instantly.

I felt bad, and to blame, that I had led her down a road that ended up in frustration. I felt to blame that she hadn’t lost weight like me. I felt to blame that she was discouraged. disappointed. defeated.

Annnnnnnnd, admittedly, I felt bad for myself that “my” covenant hadn’t “worked” for her. Like, maybe, this whole thing is lame. Maybe I shouldn’t keep pursuing it. Maybe I should stop blogging.

I know, I know.

All of that is ridiculous… but maybe it’ll give you a small glimpse into the way that Satan jumps on any form of “defeat” in my life and how he whispers untruths.

Anyway. I felt bad about it pretty much all yesterday, until today when I was looking up a scripture having nothing to do with Christy or her situation, but when I read it I was like “{Deep Therapeutic Sigh}“.

    God works in different ways, but it is the same God who does the work in all of us. 1 Corinthians 12:6

And it just reminded me that it’s not about me. not about “my” covenant. not about blame.

It’s all about God. It’s all about His huge master plan. He can see the matrix and He knows why Christy went down this path. He knows why the “diet” that enabled me to lose weight didn’t for her.

It’s the same God… He just works in different ways. Kinda neat to think of actually.

So I guess the lesson is that if you read this blog, God may not call you to follow my “diet”, but this I do know… He is calling you to follow Him. with whatever you do. in all that you do.

Leave a Reply

