Day 233: Dare To Hope

20120830-132032.jpg

I am kind of amazed today with myself. That after 233 days of this I still will turn to things that cannot fulfill. things that have proven to let me down. things that will hurt me.

Even after an awesome three-week hard-core Daniel Fast.

So, after I have all this wonderful spiritual enlightenment and peace, what do I do?

I drink three cups of coffee this morning.

I get myself all sorts of addicted to getting on Facebook again and again and staying up late checking the dad gum thing (even though it is scooched down to the last “page” on my iPhone all by itself).

I make a fresh loaf of bread and knock out half of it before it’s even had a chance to cool.

I eat when I’m not hungry. Several. times.

I ignore God when He tells me to pray and stop working on my to-do list (oh yeah, there was a pretty immediate consequence for that one… not a good idea to ignore God).

Honestly I’m getting frustrated with myself just writing this post!

But…

I still dare to hope when I remember this:

The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him. So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord. For no one is abandoned by the Lord forever. Though he brings grief, he also shows compassion because of the greatness of his unfailing love. Instead, let us test and examine our ways. Let us turn back to the Lord.Lamentations 3:21-26, 31-32, 40

Leave a Reply

