Update: Squeaky Clean Soul

20120818-144542.jpg

A few days ago I wrote a post called “Squeaky Clean Soul” where I discussed how a little house cleaning led me to start praying every day for fifteen minutes when I get my boys down for their naps.

And, well, I just wanted to say that I have now prayed for 15 minutes every afternoon (except for yesterday when I ran an errand… bad idea… and prayed yesterday evening instead. It would have been worth it to stay home fifteen extra minutes instead of trying on clothes like I discussed in my post from yesterday). And it has already been awe.some. Why didn’t I do this before?!?!?!

And it’s not been super complicated or anything. I just set a timer on my phone for 15 minutes to make sure I don’t allow myself to get distracted for at least 15 minutes and then I get out this cute green journal that my mom gave me…

20120818-143837.jpg
… and then I pray. It’s sorta in letter form, but it helps to keep me focused so my thoughts don’t drift off. I figure King David did it, why not me too? Ha!

But I have already seen the difference just in these past six days. No, I’m not saying that all of my prayers were instantly answered (although one of them was!) but I am saying that I have already been spoken to by God in several of my prayer-letters. He has revealed His Answers to me over things I have been mulling over by myself for weeks.

Key words: by. myself.

It was almost as if the mere act of setting aside a measly 15 minutes to dedicate to communication with God… well, shocking, I know, but it is like it allows Him to COMMUNICATE with me. This is probably old news to you veterans out there, but I honestly feel as if I have discovered something wholly new and wonderful.

And I have.

A closer relationship with my Lord.

And that deserves a big ol’ hearty AMEN!

2 Comments to “Update: Squeaky Clean Soul”

  1. I love this! This is helping me tremendously…all your daily renewals…thank you for sharing

    • So glad! I love that it is helping… blogging every day has been such a help to me to refocus me every day, but I’m so glad that it has been an encouragement to others as well!

Leave a Reply

