Day 213: Peach Portions

Day 10 of my hard-core Daniel Fast.

This morning, like most when I am on a Daniel Fast, I woke up and wasn’t even thinking about breakfast. Really, for the past 200-something days I have breakfasted on coffee with almond milk and an occasional day with fruit or oatmeal or something. But most days I don’t eat breakfast because the coffee and almond milk fill me up.

Since I am not having any coffee during these 21 days I have I had to actually eat breakfast. But I don’t usually get hungry until 8:00ish or so.

And so this morning around 8:00 I was taking some medication and knew I was hungry so I thought to go ahead and eat a banana.

About an hour later I thought, “I’m hungry again.” Which is not atypical with this diet to be hungry every hour… so I went ahead and had a bowl of peach slices.

Thirty minutes later… hungry. I thought, “Okay, I need to have something with substance this time.” So I had a couple of spoons of peanut butter and a few raisins. Much better. I made it until lunch on that.

But what I was thinking of is that how cool it is that fruit has sort of been built-in by God with portion control.

I mean- a banana comes in its own wrapper. Once you’re done… you’re done. An apple- in a wrapper. Orange… yep. a wrapper. Peach? Messy, but still in a wrapper. Now berries… those are a little different. They are sorta like buffet style. But anyway. A lot of fruits and veggies are almost like designed for you to just eat one.

So I started trying that. Just eating one thing to see if that satiated my hunger. Cause I used to be all like “Oh I’m hungry” and then I’d automatically pour myself a huge bowl of cereal. or make myself a complete sandwich. or eat a batch of cookie dough. But now I sorta “probe” at my hunger. I think it’s kind of like how nutritionists say that it is better to have like 5 small meals a day. I think I kind of eat like that now.

There isn’t really any deep spiritual principle with that one. I just think it is pretty much the opposite of gluttony… and that is on the right track spiritually.

Leave a Reply

