Recipe: Black Bean Burgers

20120804-215341.jpg

My hubby and I had a delish black bean burger when we were in Nashville and he recently requested that we find some. Well, I’ve tried the store-bought frozen ones, and props to them for trying but they weren’t nearly as good as the one we had. So, I remembered that a friend of mine had posted this recipe and I thought that I’d give it a try! Worth. it. Super yummy!

Black Bean Veggie Burgers

  • 1 (16 ounce) can black beans, drained, and rinsed, and patted dry
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1/2 onion, cut into wedges (I used frozen chopped onion)
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled (I used jarred, minced garlic)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Thai chili sauce or hot sauce (I only had Tabasco sauce)
  • 1 cup bread crumbs (I used the garlic and herb because I bought it on accident)
  1. If grilling, preheat an outdoor grill for high heat, and lightly oil a sheet of aluminum foil. If baking, preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C), and lightly oil a baking sheet.
  2. In a medium bowl, mash black beans with a fork until thick and pasty.
  3. In a food processor, finely chop bell pepper, onion, and garlic (If you have a strainer, then you could smoosh out the extra liquid from this so they will stick together better). Then stir into mashed beans.
  4. In a small bowl, stir together egg, chili powder, cumin, and chili sauce.
  5. Stir the egg mixture into the mashed beans. Mix in bread crumbs until the mixture is sticky and holds together. Divide mixture into four patties. Put each patty into a plastic bag or wrap in saran wrap. Freeze for three or four hours.
  6. If grilling, place frozen patties on foil, and grill about 8 minutes on each side. If baking, place frozen patties on baking sheet, and bake about 10 minutes on each side.

These were just really great! They looked a bit like chocolate chip cookies so that was kind of a tease. I baked one for myself tonight but I would love to try it on the grill as well.

Here is the original recipe… I added in my changes and borrowed some changes that other commenters suggested! Oh, one thing I’d like to try next time is doing 2 eggs… a few commenters said that made it more moist!

3 Comments to “Recipe: Black Bean Burgers”

  1. These look good!
    Black bean burgers is something I’d like to try! 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

Leave a Reply

