Day 152: Me, Myself, And I

20120611-071139.jpg

I talk to myself a lot more nowadays.

I mean, I have always talked to myself quite a lot, especially right before starting the covenant, but the past few months it has been really noticeable… but both times it has been about food.

Before, most of my talking was more of a fight with myself as I tried to convince myself not to eat an Oreo, not another Oreo, please… please… not another Oreo. Or the convincing myself that another Oreo was no biggie, that I deserved it, that I needed it. Or it was the mean, mean self-talk when I did realize that I had eaten half a bag of Oreos.

Okay, okay, a whole bag.

But now the self talk is a bit more constructive and has a lot less of me battling… me. Now I think “Am I reallllly hungry? Do I realllllly need another bowl of carrots?” or “Would eating that bread with honey leftover from Saxon’s lunch realllllly honor and please God?” (And I write that one specifically because it is a struggle for me right now.)

Like, recently my husband had his last day of school and so we went and got him a “special meal” at Dickey’s BBQ. After he had eaten I kept eyeing his BBQ sauce… and here was my “self-talk”…

I can eat BBQ sauce, right?

Well, yeah, but will it honor God?

I don’t see why not. It’s not meat and I’m hungry. Besides, I may love meat but I really love the sauce that goes on it!

Then go for it!

So, I did! I ate the BBQ sauce with a spoon and it was yummy!!!

So, it is neat to see that God has truly transformed my mind. I mean, I like that my conversations with me are more… more about Him than they are about me fighting with myself.

Let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. Romans 12:2

Leave a Reply

