Day 147: Slumpy

I have come across several people expressing to me that they are in a “slump” with the covenant. I totally and completely understand. And it does make me hope that I don’t convey on here that I’m never in a slump myself… I go through a slump almost weekly.

By the way, when you say the word “slump” several times in a row… it’s like it stops looking like a real word. It just looks… weird.

Okay, random tangent over.

What’s been a big help for me is that I am “forced” to write about my highs, my lows, my dark thoughts, and my revelations. Because of this blog I am “forced” to find God every day. Even on some days when I really want to just ignore Him. ignore the covenant. ignore everything. By being “forced” to find the connection to Christ, I can often bring myself out of a slump. Or, more so, finding a reminder of who God is and what His purpose is… that is what brings me out of it. It’s like, I have to remind myself daily how He fits into this journey… how He IS this journey… and it often keeps me going.

So, this is very much like my suggestion the other day about writing things down. Day 143 was about writing down the… “terms” of the covenant, whereas here, I’m suggesting something a bit more.

Like, what if you too wrote your own mind renewals? Even if it was never shared with anyone. Or you could easily share them with others. It’s just that, for some reason, having to push yourself to come up with something to write… well, it can lead you somewhere you never would have tried had you not been pushed. You wouldn’t even have to write them. Do a video everyday where you film yourself talking about your covenant with God. Post it on YouTube if you want. No technology? Get an old school tape recorder and record your voice just talking about it.

Just… try to find God. Make yourself… make a connection. He will renew you through your search for Him. through your endeavor. through your writing.

through following Him.

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. Matthew 16:24

Leave a Reply

