Day 132: A Celebration Of Life

So today is my youngest son’s two year old birthday! We had his party last night and listen to the menu I so brilliantly came up with and see what you think I could eat:

hot dogs, chips, cupcakes, ice cream

Yeah, none of it.

I almost feel like a hypocrite changing all my ways and then feeding everyone else the same blech stuff that I am avoiding! But all of that to say, I just didn’t eat any of it. I had grapes, peanuts, a banana, and a glass of tea. I was fine. Which is just so weird and yet cool at the same time to be able to say.

I mean, last year for his one-year birthday party we got the same cupcakes from Sam’s only they had Elmo “rings” on them as toppers instead of Cars 2 toppers like they had this year. And last year over a span of a few days, I ate… ohhhhh, I dunno… about a dozen of them that were left over.

A dozen cupcakes people.

About a month before had been my sister-in-law’s wedding shower and guess what we had there? Oh, yes… cupcakes. And I think that I had eaten about a dozen of them as well. And take a wild guess as to what we had at my older son’s birthday party just a few months later? Oh my gosh… you’re good.

Yep. Cupcakes.

And yep. There were leftovers. (Emphasis on the word: were since I ate all the leftover cupcakes.)

So that’s why I say it is weird to think that for this cupcake birthday, I ate… none… of the birthday food.

And what’s even weirder and even cooler is that it wasn’t difficult for me. There was no battle inside. There was not a sneaking into the bathroom to shove a cupcake down my throat. There was just… a birthday. A celebration of my son’s life.

And silently… all by myself… hidden away in a party room in my soul… I had another celebration. A celebration of my new life.

My new life of freedom.

So let us celebrate the festival, not with the old bread of wickedness and evil, but with the new bread of sincerity and truth. 1 Corinthians 5:8

6 Responses to “Day 132: A Celebration Of Life”

  1. I love this. I have found many times 1 is too many and a thousand is not enough. Often no cupcakes are easier than one or two or just one more maybe three. Thanks again for sharing your journey. We are not alone!

    • “Often no cupcakes are easier than one or two or just one more maybe three.” You nailed it. I keep, keep, keep coming across that realization. And each time I think… oh man, I just want to be free of this forever. I would not be surprised if I keep a lot of this covenant stuff going after “the deadline” just because I crave this freedom more than I crave chocolate. At least… I think. Haha!
      Oh, and I sorta wrote a post on this topic a while ago… I just remembered it. It was good to reread so I’m glad you commented! https://thecovenantdiet.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/day-eighty-six-shouldnt-couldnt/

  2. Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

