Day 121: UNglorious

I think I’m starting to get a much better understanding of what it was to be an Israelite.

I’ve often read about the Israelites going around and around in circles with God… He would save them, then they would praise Him and adore Him, then they would begin to worship an idol, and then He would punish them, and then they would repent, and He would save them. Over and over again. I was always like, seriously? Why would you worship some gold cow after what He did for you?

But I think now I’m starting to identify a bit more with them.

God has brought me out of my own little proverbial “Egypt” of food addiction. I have spent days praising Him and being in awe of His “mighty hand and outstretched arm”.

But, sitting here at day 121, I can say that over the past four months there have been days when, well, it’s not as… fun. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m not breaking the covenant. But sometimes I find myself forcing myself to blog… and not because I don’t want to write (although, there are days of just mere exhaustion with two young boys where that is the case) but because I don’t feel like there is anything “new” to write about. There are days that are just… well, to play off of my “tag line”… there are days that are just UNglorious. At least that is the way that some days feel.

But, really, there are no days that are UNglorious.

The Lord makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image. 2 Corinthians 3:18

So even if a day of tge covenant journey is… “boring” or “lame” or just plain “normal”, I am still in the process of being changed into his glorious image. Wow. That just makes every day… a glory day!

Leave a Reply

