Day 107: Request For Prayer

So I guess there are enough of you guys out there now that I can ask you guys for prayer. I am sorta struggling with how to handle this new desire with bread. It’s soooooooo much smaller than my issue with sugar and chocolate were but nonetheless it is a budding issue that I have addressed a few times now.

I am trying to decide between two things:
1) Put bread on the covenant list of things I agree not to eat.
2) Continue to try to “avoid” it.

Here are my thoughts- if I make bread a “no” then I know that I won’t eat it because I will have made a deal with God not to eat it. But at the same time then I won’t get any practice in making the right choice.

If I continue to try to avoid it I can almost assuredly tell you that I will probably slip up occasionally. But it does afford me the ability to eat more easily (e.g. enchiladas, black bean burgers, etc.).

I just don’t know what to do. I mean, I know this is a “first-world” problem and all but what it really boils down to is not so much in the decision of eat or don’t eat, but I want to make a decision that will a) continue to give me renewal, b) bring me even and ever closer to Jesus, and c) glorify God.

I am just at the point where I don’t know which is which. Ya know, it’s like a win-win situation from the looks of it. But I want it to be a win-glorify situation.

So, this is a request of you all to pray for God to guide my decision making. That no matter what I eat or drink that I would bring glory to God.

So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31

Leave a Reply

