Day 103: Table For Two

Last night I had another cool “success” moment. My husband has been out of town this weekend and one of the ways that I “treat” myself when he leaves is not having to cook! So I get myself one of those Bertolli or P.F. Chang’s frozen meals where you dump them in a skillet and they are ready in like ten minutes and they taste uh.maz.ing. Well, they say on the package “meal for two” but every time I have gotten one in the past, I eat the whole thing.

Tonight though, I served myself half of it. Wowzers- it was gooood! And then when I finished my bowl I was like, “Whew, I’m full!” And then it sorta hit me… wow. I’m full. Again. And again, I’m not eating.

Now this might be kind of funny to someone who doesn’t really know my entire journey, but for a habitual overeater… having two back to back experiences of eating exactly how much she should eat… well, it’s pretty significant!

And… I just want to take a moment to praise God for that. On so many levels.

First of all, that his renewal of my mind has… worked. I mean, it’s not that I doubted it. Heck, obviously I had to believe that this would work… I signed on for this thing for a full year!!! But I think it’s even sweeter when you have faith that God will do something… and then He does! Gives a whole new level of awesomeness to:

Faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. Hebrews 11:11

But also, I praise God for this place I live in. Sure, the American government is a little jacked up. Sure, there is sin everywhere and temptation and corruption.

But. I have never gone hungry because I could not get food. I have never had to sleep outside because I had no place to stay. I have never gone thirsty because the water had run dry.

This land… is amazing. And last night, I ate… and I was satisfied. And so today, I praise God for the good land He has given me.

When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you. Deuteronomy 8:10

Leave a Reply

