Day Fifty-Nine: Ask

God answers prayers.

Some of you might be thinking…
Ummmmmm yeah. Wow. Sure hope January doesn’t think that is some kind of major revelation never known before.

And some of you might be thinking…
No He doesn’t. At least it doesn’t feel like He does. I have to figure most everything out.

And even then…
Oh yes. Amen. I’m sure He does answer some people’s prayers. But, well, now that I think about it, I don’t recall the last time I asked Him about something.

And there might be a billion other variations, but I think that I probably have typically fallen into that last category. I have known that he does often answer some people’s prayers. But I don’t want to bother Him with my requests because they are so mundane. Surely I can take care of it.

But, just look at how I handled something as basic as eating. I didn’t take care of it!!! I ignored it and I ignored the power that God could have over it.

And really, to break the chains… all it took was to ask. That’s it. Just to ask.

And He was ready. Because He knew what greatness awaited me on the other side of an addiction.

Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it! John 14:14

And the cool thing about seeing Him work and “answer” prayers in one area of my life is that now I have more faith to trust him in other areas. And it’s so awesome to see that same readiness to answer in those situations.

Leave a Reply

