Day Fifty-Two: And The Youth Will Lead Them

My oldest boy (he is 4 1/2) has been really into telling me about what he’s learning in church on Sundays in his class. Which I am esctatic about because that means that he is 1) really listening and 2) really interested!

This past Sunday the lesson was about the ten men that Jesus healed from leprosy while only one came back.

As Jesus continued on toward Jerusalem, he reached the border between Galilee and Samaria. As he entered a village there, ten lepers stood at a distance, crying out, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!”
He looked at them and said, “Go show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were cleansed of their leprosy.
One of them, when he saw that he was healed, came back to Jesus, shouting, “Praise God!” He fell to the ground at Jesus’ feet, thanking him for what he had done. This man was a Samaritan.
Jesus asked, “Didn’t I heal ten men? Where are the other nine? Has no one returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?” And Jesus said to the man, “Stand up and go. Your faith has healed you.”
Luke 17:11-19

Now I think as adults we tend to analyze this a bunch of different ways, but the “kid analysis” was so simple and so brilliant.

So after Pasco told me the story, I asked him my typical, “What can we learn from this story?” And his response: “Mom, you need to thank Jesus when he does something nice for you. Just like the sick man said thank you.”

That was it. So simple. So true. It wasn’t shocking or anything but there was something about hearing it from someone else and especially since the “you” was in there- it made it… personal.

January, you need to thank Jesus when he does something nice for you.

Hmmmmmm- like healing me from a leprosy of my soul, for example? Because that is just what Jesus is doing for me. It didn’t necessarily happen in one flash of lightning, but just like those men with leprosy… it is happening “along the way”.

So, like my son said, I need to thank Jesus… because he has done something nice for me. Sooooo…

Jesus. Where do I begin? Thank you for every moment of freedom that you have given me already. Thank you for every moment of freedom that I can look forward to in the future. Thank you for renewing my heart and for giving me an obedient heart. Thank you for helping me to bring my mind along with that same renewal. Thank you for the Word that you have given me. Thank you for the time to read it. And thank you for the way it changes me, renews me, purifies me. Thank you for healing me of my addiction to food. Thank you for my salvation. Thank you for loving me so much more than I could ask for. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you! Amen.

Leave a Reply

