Day Forty-Seven: Parting Is Such Sweet… Awesomeness!

I haven’t mentioned chocolate in a while. At the beginning it was all the time, but I can tell that my mentionings are diminishing.

Which is so awesome and so disconcerting at the same time. It’s awesome how something so “worldly”, so temporary, so unimportant… can so quickly fade away. It shows me where chocolate stood in order of importance, really.

But it’s disconcerting to know that for all those years I allowed chocolate to hold me. to defeat me. to comfort me. to empower me. to do so many things for me.

And wow… that little description up there sounds a lot like the description of an idol. Sure, I never had a big gold-plated Hershey bar up on the mantel with incense burning next to it, but… well, I gave it that position in my heart. And I may not be a fancy theologian but I know that God sure doesn’t want us to go through the actions of worshipping or relying on someone/thing else as our god, but he reallllly doesn’t want us to feel that way in our hearts.

I’m not even sure why I have received so many blessings despite carrying around that stronghold. But then again, maybe my real blessings are only yet to come.

I know what freedom I have encountered just from that one piece of addiction being released from me, so surely the future holds more. And I can already start to see other areas that I want to attack next year, and the next, and the next! I’m probably gonna go from a covenant diet from food into breaking all of my misplaced addictions until all I have left is Christ.

Of course, I’m pretty sure that’s called Heaven. Haha!

Leave a Reply

