Day Forty-Five: An Unmeant Lent

I didn’t mean to do Lent. Like, I didn’t intend to. I figured, Heck, I’m already kinda doing Lent all year long, why should I pick something else to get rid of? Seriously, getting rid of sweets and meats for a whole year… that’s definitely some sacrifice, right?

But I went ahead and went to the Ash Wednesday service at church cause I can still go through the mental focus on Christ throughout the Lenten season. Annnnnnnnd, well, in about the last five minutes of the service it was like my brain saying, “Ya need to give up something.”

So I came home and thought/prayed about it (most of the time my thoughts intermingle with conversation with God… kind of ‘unintended prayers’). And my first instinct was to question why I should give something up since I already am. But I realized the answer to that one pretty quickly: my covenant diet is about me and God… not so much about a refocus on Christ and all His Awesomeness during his journey to the cross. So, okay, give up something to focus more on the journey to the cross. Cool. No prob.

Now, what to give up?

Yeah, that was easy: Facebook. I mean, I really like Facebook! I love to post pics of my boys and update my status with fun and funny things that happen to me during the day. That alone is not such a big deal, but I love to see people’s comments about what I post. And how many people “like” something. And then I sorta just automatically wander over to the News Feed page and then… well, then I just lose time.

And then the following “thought-conversation” ensued:

Me: So, Facebook it is, Jesus! …..What? You want me to pick something else as well? I’m sorry, come again? You want me to go hard core on the Daniel Fast? You do realize that Lent is for forty-six days, right? I mean, God, I did it for 21 days but for 46 days… that is such a sacrifice!

Jesus: Really, January? Realllllly? Is it really THAT difficult? Wanna try dying on the cross WHILE bearing the sins of all humanity?

Me: (embarrased silence)

Jesus: So, could you just do this for me? Just maybe get in touch with my struggles… a little?

Me: Sign me up Jesus. Let’s DO THIS THING!

So, here I go… on a no-Facebook-hard-core-Daniel-Fast Lent season! And, as crazy loco as it sounds, I’m so excited!

(If you are confused thinking, “Wait, I thought you were already doing a Daniel Fast?” I’m doing what I call a “flexible Daniel Fast” for the year, but for the Lenten season I will do a regular ol’ Daniel Fast… which I call a “Hard-Core Daniel Fast” because only fruits, veggies, and nuts… that is hard core! You can read a little about the differences here.)

3 Trackbacks to “Day Forty-Five: An Unmeant Lent”

Leave a Reply

