Day Twenty-Three: Beating Brownies

I have some good friends Jason and Alina who had their first baby about a month ago and now that her mom is back at work and his in-laws have gone back home as well, I offered to make them a meal. It meant so much to me when people brought us food (including Jason and Alina) that I love to return the favor or “pay it forward” when I can.

So I started planning a couple weeks ago trying to decide what to take them. I’m not a super good cook so I have to be careful not to pull any Hail Mary’s when I make meals for people lest the food be uneatable and then they are stuck with a bunch of gross leftovers plus they are hungry. Okay I’m rambling. Anyway, I chose to do my easy enchiladas cause they are… easy, and I have made them a bunch of times and have yet to completely mess them up. So I made those, some rice, some black beans, got some chips and salsa and then… one thing left.

Dessert.

I knew I wouldn’t have a ton of time to cook since my youngest has been sick and teething, so I thought brownies would be easy and yummy and they could munch on them for a few days. I grabbed the triple chunk brownies cause they are extra yummy.

Annnnnd a little background on me and triple chocolate brownie mix. Remember my story the other day about the cookie dough? Yeah. Very similar. Essentially I would make brownie mix (always triple chunk) and I would eat so much of it that I often times ended up having only enough batter left that I would have to bake them in a creme brûlée ramiken. When I was pregnant, I would purposefully buy pasteurized eggs so that I could make and eat raw brownie batter.

So. Essentially, for a food addict… this was like dealing with crack for me.

But it went great!!! I even rinsed my finger instead of licking it (trying to get out of those habitual overeatings) and although I longed for it… I did not take a bite nor did I lick the bowl. And actually, now that I think about it, I didn’t long for it. I went into it thinking, “I’m going to stick by the covenant.” And so it was never like a temptation really. Chocolate is just not something that I’m gonna have. Period. The end. That’s it.

20120203-141002.jpg

2 Trackbacks to “Day Twenty-Three: Beating Brownies”

Leave a Reply

