Day Nineteen: Dreams Don’t Come True

Last night I had a dream that I broke the covenant. I ate birthday cake, ice cream, a Cinnabon sweet roll. And I did the same thing in my dreams that I have always done in “real” life… I forgot I was on a covenant/diet and I accidentally ate a piece of birthday cake at my brother-in-law’s birthday party (which was last night). So, I went ahead and went crazy eating.

But that’s what’s so great about this dream not coming true!
I went to a birthday party last night and I didn’t eat the brats they were having for dinner (although the home made macaroni and cheese and the cucumber and tomato salad were both pretty good substitutes)! I did not eat the Reese’s Ice Cream bars my husband brought home the other night for pizza night even though they are my favorite. And I know that if I had accidentally broken the covenant by eating cake that I would not have gone wild. I would have just “repented” and gotten back to the covenant.

The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God. Psalm 51:17

What a great God. He wants my heart to be renewed. As long as I am on the journey of renewal then he won’t reject me.

But still, I’m SO glad my dream did not come true! Haha!

Leave a Reply

