Day Six: This Is Sick

This sickness has revealed yet another habit to be broken: tasting. I made my son’s lunch for school today (the classic: peanut butter and jelly sandwich… a true fav of mine). Well normally, I slap the peanut butter on one slice, lick the peanut butter off, rinse the knife in the sink, and then I dip in to get the jelly out, and then lick the jelly off of the knife. But I could not do that today because of this black plague that I’ve got; I don’t want to “contaminate” my son and any other future jelly eaters.
Not being able to do my Tuesday/Thursday ritual really made me pause and think about how much food I consume while merely preparing the food. Peanut butter and jelly knife licks were only the tip of the iceberg. Not all of the food I was tasting was “bad” nor was I consuming copious amounts of it (at least not most of the time). Like getting raisins for my youngest… I’d get a few too. Gummies (fruit snacks) for my oldest… I’d snag one.
It seems like no biggie but all that “tasting” adds up. And it adds up to what has become one of my biggest problems: mindless eating.

2 Comments to “Day Six: This Is Sick”

  1. Yes! Or throwing an extra nugget on the cookie sheet just for you. I’m ashamed to admit that little tidbit.

Leave a Reply

